House at ‘Big Chill’ as part of the Beaufort Autumn Festival

This year’s Beaufort Homes and Gardens Fall Festival, which showcases the city’s historic and architecturally significant homes, will feature a house that has appeared in two Hollywood films and other gems that are generally prohibited to the public.

During the festival, visitors and residents tour historic and private homes and gardens in the city’s National Historic District, gaining a rare behind-the-scenes glimpse of the city’s high-style architecture produced by the planters of before the Civil War, known as the “Beaufort Style.”

The city is also known for the folk architectural patterns of its post-war African-American community.

“It’s a way for people to experience not just the exterior of these homes,” Cynthia Jenkins, executive director of the Historic Beaufort Foundation (HBF), told the Beaufort Gazette and Island Packet, “but also the setting. and interior”.

Jenkins calls visiting the homes of historic downtown Beaufort along Bluff, on the Point and in the downtown shopping district and strolling through the gardens “truly a magical experience.”

The tour, which typically draws 500 to 600 history and architecture enthusiasts from across the country, generates revenue for HBF’s preservation efforts, as well as revenue for food and lodging establishments and the city via accommodation taxes.

Anyone can buy tickets.

On Friday, HBF announced the lineup of houses and gardens for the festival, which will take place on October 22 and 23.

A highlight of the weekend will be Sunday brunch and a visit to the Edgar Fripp House, also called Tidalholm, built circa 1853 and featured in the 1979 film, ‘The Great Santini’, based on the 1976 novel by Pat Conroy de Beaufort, and the 1983 film “The Big Cold”.

Owner John C. Tashjian, a New York developer, bought Tidalholm for $1.76 million in 2017 and restored it. His address is 1 Laurens St.

IMG_7631.JPG
The Edgar Fripp House, 1 Laurens Street, also called Tidalholm, built circa 1853, is part of this year’s Beaufort Home and Garden Autumn Festival. Beaufort Historical Foundation

Jenkins and local architect Rob Montgomery will discuss Beaufort’s style of architecture and lifestyle.

Jenkins, who married at Tidalholm, researched its owners and guests after it became a guest house in 1935.

“It’s kind of a who’s who of early 20th century people,” Jenkins said.

Many well-heeled northerners remained in Tidalholm, she noted. Writers were also frequent guests. The Southern Literary Review, Jenkins said, was founded there. And, during the winters, the editor of Reader’s Digest was a frequent guest.

The Saturday walking tour will take visitors past modest cottages, grand residences and historic churches built between 1786 and the early 1900s.

Highlights include:

Milton Maxcy House at the corner of Church and Craven Streets, which was built around 1810 and remodeled in the 1850s. Also known as ‘Secession House’, it is where Beaufort District leaders declared secession from the United States. It was later used as a Union Hospital during the Civil War.

Milton Maxcy House.jpeg
Milton Maxcy House at the corner of Church and Craven streets. Beaufort Historical Foundation

John Joyner Smith House, built circa 1850 on Bay Street. He may be most famous for having a fake front door. During the Civil War, it was the Union headquarters for General Isaac Stevens.

“Petit Point” on Washington Street, behind the University of South Carolina Beaufort, which was built around 1855.

Talbird-Sams House on Hancock Street, built around 1786.

Adam Davis Hare House on Craven Street, built circa 1924.

St. Helena Parish Church and Cemetery, one of the oldest active churches in North America.

An officer’s house that was saved and moved from the US Marine Corps Parris Island recruiting depot to the Point neighborhood.

The John Mark Verdier House on Bay Street, which underwent an exterior renovation in 2021, returning it to its 1804 paint scheme.

Tickets on sale

Reservations are strongly recommended. Tickets for the Saturday tour are $60 for HBF members and $75 for non-members. Tickets for Sunday Brunch and the Edgar Fripp House Tour are $130 for HBF members and $150 for non-members.

Call HBF at 843-379-3331 or online at historicbeaufort.org. Online ticket sales end October 20. Tickets will also be available for purchase from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday, October 22 at the Fall Tour station in Arsenal Court, 713 Craven St.

House Verdier high resolution.jpg
The John Mark Verdier House on Bay Street. Historic foundation of Beaufort.

Hilton Head Island Packet Related Stories

Karl Puckett covers the town of Beaufort, the town of Port Royal and other communities north of the Broad River for The Beaufort Gazette and Island Packet. The Minnesota native has also worked at newspapers in his home state of Alaska, Wisconsin and Montana.

Comments are closed.