Musée des Appalaches to unveil a new exhibit on November 10 | Community
NORRIS – The Museum of the Appalachians, a museum affiliated with the Smithsonian, will soon unveil a recently restored Arnwine cabin as part of a new exhibit about the construction of the Norris Dam of TVA and the people who were forced to relocate from the area to which the dam has been built.
The exhibition is entitled “The sacrifice and renewal of mountaineers”.
The exhibit features historical photographs and an animated map of the area before and after the construction of the Norris Dam, highlighting the location of the houses, farms, churches and schools that now lie at the bottom of Lake Norris. But the centerpiece of this exhibit is the Arnwine Hut, a house that was once considered the smallest structure in the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1800 on the banks of the Clinch River at Liberty Hill, the construction of the Norris Dam required the deconstruction and relocation of the Arnwine Hut. Such a house is a prime example of early Appalachian life before the construction of the Norris Dam.
“This exhibit is a testament to the diligent and industrious people who built this incredible dam, and also to the sacrifice of a people who left their lives behind for the promise of progress,” said museum president Elaine Meyer. “We are delighted to be able to share this story with visitors from all over the world. “
In the fall of 1933, at the height of the Great Depression, the Tennessee Valley Authority embarked on its first major project, the construction of the Norris Dam. This engineering phenomenon took several years and thousands of workers, ultimately providing flood control and electrical power to an entire region.
The Appalachian Museum is located at 2819 Andersonville Highway in Clinton and is open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. For more information, visit museumofap palachia.org or dial 865-494-7680.