The Bristol Press – Bristol resident appointed to Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History Board



BRISTOL – As part of the new leadership announcements, Bristol resident Barbara Franklin and Argentina native Enrique Segura have been named new directors to the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History.

Franklin is a former US secretary of commerce and business executive while Segura is chairman of the board of the ENSE group, the statement said. Segura will succeed A + E Networks Chairman Emeritus Abbe Raven and Franklin will succeed North Ten Mile Associates CEO Barry Meyer. Franklin will be the vice-chairman of the museum’s 22-member board.

“We look forward to the vast expertise and broadening perspectives that our Board leadership brings to our joint work to transform our museum into a place of dialogue and understanding of the layered complexity of American history. “said Anthea M. Hartig, Elizabeth of the museum. Director MacMillan in the press release. “Dr. Segura and Secretary Franklin have a deep commitment to public service and our museum’s goal of becoming the most accessible, inclusive, relevant and sustainable public history institution in the country.

Franklin is the CEO and President of the private international consulting firm Barbara Franklin Enterprises. According to the statement, she served under five US presidents and was assistant to President Richard Nixon. She pushed the White House’s efforts to have women participate in political decisions in the federal government and, as Commerce Secretary, she led a presidential mission to China in the name of restoring economic relations. She was recognized as one of the “50 Women Who Made American Political History” by Time magazine.

Franklin is chairman emeritus of the board of directors of the National Association of Corporate Directors, the statement said, and of the Economic Club of New York. She currently serves as a board member of the National Committee on U.S.-China Relations and the National Symphony Orchestra. She is a director of the George and Barbara Bush Foundation. Franklin is a graduate of Pennsylvania State University and one of the first female graduates of Harvard Business School. She lives in Bristol and Washington DC

According to the statement, the museum’s board of directors includes philanthropists, active alumni, philanthropists, business leaders, historians and members of Congress. It was established in 1996 and its members advise the director on exhibitions, programs, finance, development and facilities. The director of the museum, the secretary of the Smithsonoian, and the Smithsonian’s undersecretary for museums and culture are considered ex officio members.

Posted in The Bristol Press, Bristol on Thursday, July 1, 2021 3:15 PM. Update: Thursday, July 1, 2021 3:18 p.m.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.